Committee Recommendation for Revised Zone Boundaries

Oregon Coast Community College Revised Based on 8/17/22 Discussion

August 10, 2022

Committee Recommendation to Balance Zones based on 2021 Census Committee Members: Chandler, Nelson-Robertson, and Osterlund

Background:

ORS 341.327 Method of electing Community College board members.

(a) Elected by electors of zones as nearly equal in population as possible according to the latest federal census.

The OCCC District elects board members by seven zones. OCCC zones were determined in 1987 and made up of the 75 Lincoln County precincts which existed in 1987. Lincoln County later combined precincts to a current total of 32. The 32 precinct structure resulted in OCCC having precincts split across zones causing logistical challenges for subsequent elections. The 2020 census revealed population shifts in Lincoln County which created an opportunity to initiate an effort to better balance population within seven zones "as nearly equal in population as possible according to the latest federal census."

The OCCC Board of education appointed a committee to develop a recommendation to adjust the boundaries of current zones to consider shifts in population and, at the request of the Lincoln County Clerk's office, also ensure that zones no longer split precincts. President Ryslinge served as staff to the committee and provided the 2021 Oregon Secretary of State Directive on Redistricting, 2020 census data, current precincts, maps and County Clerk analysis to committee members for individual review. The committee then met on 06/28/2022 and reached consensus on a recommendation to the OCCC Board to revise the Zone boundaries (see below). Once this process is completed the board must adopt a new district zone map with the adjusted boundaries between zones. Once revised zone boundaries are adopted, College staff will seek to obtain a current OCCC Zone Map to provide a more useful graphical image.

OCCA Counsel, Karen Smith, provides guidance re impact on current elected board members: When there is a change in zone boundaries, currently elected board members continue to serve the remainder of their terms in the zone to which they are elected. There is no requirement for a new election. When the board member's term expires, the next elected member (whether it is the current board member running for re-election or a new person) are elected to the updated zone. Given the late release of (2020) census data and filing deadlines, there is no way districts will have the process completed before the May 2021 election so the first time newly zoned seats will be filled will be May 2023.

Committee Recommendation for Revised Zone Boundaries Oregon Coast Community College

Zone 1			
18	Kern	1483	
22	Sunset West	2354	
23	Sunset East	2140	
24	Rose Lodge	1062	Total Population: 7039
Zone 2			
19	Schooner Ck	2516	
20	Delake	3131	
21	Oceanlake	2845	Total Population: 8492
Zone 3			
15	Otter Rock	367	
16	Depoe Bay	1515	
17	Fogarty Ck	1676	
29	Siletz	2640	Total Population: 6198
Zone 4			
25	Big Elk	174	
26	Elk City	242	
27	Fruitvale	1603	
28	Eddyville	587	
30	Rock Creek	397	
31	East Toledo	2050	
32	South Toledo	2164	Total Population: 7217
Zone 5			
11	Oceanview	1288	
12	Yaquina	1672	
13	Pacific	2133	
14	Agate Beach	1759	Total Population: 6852
14	Agate Deach	1733	Total Fopulation: 0032
Zone 6			
07	Seal Rock	1580	
08	South Beach	1441	
09	Nye Creek	1827	
10	Newport Bay	1372	Total Population: 6220
Zone 7			
01	Waldport	2234	
02	Alsea	915	
03	Seaview	1309	
04	Tidewater	771	
05	Yachats	1543	
06	Bayview	1605	Total Population: 8377
			÷

Zones for Oregon Coast Community College District

Zone 1 - north county (mostly rural)

- 18 Kern
- 19 Schooner Creek (partial)
- 20 Delake (partial)
- 21 Oceanlake (partial)
- 22 Sunset West
- 23 Sunset East
- 24 Rose Lodge

Zone 2 – north county (within City of Lincoln City)

- 19 Schooner Creek (partia)
- 20 Delake (partial)
- 21 Oceanlake (partial)

Zone 3 - rural Newport area, Otter Rock, Depoe Bay area, Siletz area

- 11 Oceanview (partial)
- 12 Yaquina (partial)
- 13 Pacific (partial)
- 14 Agate Beach (partial)
- 15 Otter Rock
- 16 Depoe Bay
- 17 Fogarty Creek
- 29 Siletz
- 30 Rock Creek

Zone 4 - east county, including Toledo area

- 07 Seal Rock (partial)
- 25 Big Elk
- 26 Elk City
- 27 Fruitvale
- 28 Eddyville
- 31 East Toledo
- 32 South Toledo

Zone 5 – Newport area (within City of Newport)

- 10 Newport Bay (partial)
- 11 Cozanview (partial)
- 12 Yaquina (partial)
- 13 Pacific (partial)
- 14 Agate Beach (partial)

Zone 6 - Seal Rock, South Beach, south Newport area

- 07 Seal Rock (partial)
- 08 South Beach
- 09 Nye Creek
- 10 Newport Bay (partial)

Zone 7 - south county

- 01 Waldport
- 02 Alsea
- 03 Seaview
- 04 Tidewater
- 05 Yachats
- 06 Bayylew