College Council Agenda March 8, 2024, 1-3 pm Community Room, Newport CC-140

and Remote link on Zoom: https://oregoncoast.zoom.us/j/801905767

Call to order: 1:06 pm

- Land acknowledgment: https://youtu.be/N9gix3sspBU?si=cbHPQuPnDiloTybp
- Roll call of voting member: Darci Adolf, Alison Williams, Rob Seal, Melissa Batchelor, Becky York, Spencer Smith, Ann Hovey, Laura McClister, Crystal Bowman, Tony Noble, Dave Price, Ben Kaufmann, Larry Boles, Patrick Misiti, Julia Ryan, Kira Woosley, Ace Brewer, Shaneon Dinwoodie, Jose Hernandez, Ren Whipple, Birgitte Ryslinge, Joy Gutknecht, Andres Oroz, Alberto Flores, Jennifer Fleming, Lynn Barton (absent)
- Review of minutes and approval vote: Patrick moved, Laura seconded, all yea approved
- Call for adjustments to the agenda: Add Alison to the "Former ILT" section
- Approval vote on agenda adjustments: Patrick moved, Shaneon seconded, all yea - approved

Information & Discussion Items

- President's update Birgitte Ryslinge
 - Presidential vacancy process: Board will develop a draft document, Key Qualifications of Next President, which will be provided to OCCC employees for feedback shortly after today's CoCo – only active until 3/18; folks can also comment during the next Board meeting
 - Wilder tree removal: may not end up being a total clear-cut; will work with Chris to ensure minimal interference with College activities
 - Roof replacement: June 15 Sept 15 (approx.); funded by 20-year loans and the bond measure if the board passes.
 - Budget Alignment Process: College must ensure short term financial health and long term financial stability and sustainability; we use too many one-time funds, and need to move to no more than 7% by 2026; this won't be a one-and-done, but will instead need a multi-year strategy
- Curriculum Committee Alberto Flores
 - o New committee; more information about structure etc. at next CoCo
 - WLD111 first read: updated to focus on components of E7018 electrode
- Accreditation Steering Committee Andres Oroz no update
- Assessment Task Force Alison Williams
 - In-Service presentation on new Canvas
 - Looking at surveys for outcome assessment
- Equity and Inclusion Andres Oroz
 - Women's History Month Posters are up at the commons
 - Black History Month Activities last month

- Planning a session for Faculty In-Service
- Associated Student Government Joshua Kamp and Andres Oroz
 - o Rock painting activity yesterday; all activities paused until Spring term
- Change to Number of College Council Membership Alison Williams
 - Every college does things so differently, it's hard to compare. However, smaller colleges tend to have smaller committees than ours. Our current numbers were pulled from the air, so let's look at reducing our numbers.
 - o Option 1: 6 faculty, 2 admin, 2 classified, 1 ASG: nine votes
 - o Option 2: 4 faculty, 1 admin, 1 classified, 1 ASG: one vote
 - Option 3: stay: zero votes
 - Much discussion around how to bring more students into ASG/CoCo
 - Vote on 6 faculty, 2 AMG, 2 classified, 1 ASG: Will moved, Laura seconded, all yea – approved
 - Vote on timing: Spring Will moved, Spencer seconded, all yea approved
- Former ILT Alison Williams: discussions around instructional issues (cheating, integrity, academic policies, etc.) no longer have a home; Let's look at where there are gaps, and where those topics might fit without adding another meeting; mapping of our governance might be helpful;
 - We'll revisit this after the Curriculum Committee has established its purview

Action Items

1. First Read - WLD 111

Announcements

- Vote BA 101Z, BA 211Z, BA 213Z, ENG 104Z, ENG 105Z, ENG 106Z, PSY 201Z, PSY 202Z: Patrick moved, Will seconded, all yea -- approved
- 2. Looking for a co-chair for 2024-2025

Adjourn 2:21pm

Future Meetings

- April 12, 2024
- May 10, 2024
- June 7, 2024

College Council Voting Representatives

Faculty

Lynn Barton Patrick Misiti Will Quillian Jennifer Fleming Tony Noble Laura McClister Missing 2 members

All Managers Group (AMG)

Ben Kaufman Spencer Smith Darci Adolf

Classified

Shaneon Dinwoodie Missing 2 members

Associated Student Government (ASG)

<u>Chair</u>: Alison Williams <u>Co-Chair</u>: Rob Seal